top of page
Search

What Anxiety Feels Like

Out of all the things I could dream about why did I dream about this I wondered to myself as I woke up this morning.

And the grip gets tighter around my throat.

I get out of bed say a prayer and brush my teeth. Deep in thought as my electric toothbrush swivels in circles across every tooth.

The grip gets tighter around my throat.

I feel the warm water trickle down my skin as I enjoy an early morning shower taking in the smell of the new body wash, I just purchased.

Grip gets tighter around my throat.

Settling down at my desk with my cup of green tea, just a hint of honey, and some lemon juice. The tea is freshly microwaved and hot to my lips as I give it a taste.

Grip gets tighter around my throat.

Read the assignment for this week mentally formulating my discussion post in the process. Repeating my mantra that it is just a school assignment in my head.

Gets tighter around my throat.

Watching an episode of anything to get my mind off school during my thirty-minute break. Slip a chip in my mouth while promising not to regret this bag of chips later.

Tighter around my throat.

I type the last sentence of the discussion post give it a once over for any mistakes and post it. I decide that I am done for the day and I close my laptop.

Around my throat.

I am eating dinner distracting myself with a tv show again. Thankful for the dinner and the distraction.

Around my throat.

I turn off the lights and get in the bed with the grip getting tighter around my throat. Tired of ignoring the grip on my throat, tired of holding it all in I let out a cry. I cover my mouth so no one can hear. A lone tear falls down my face and I wipe it with the palm of my hand.

I exhale say a prayer then turn over and sleep.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

White Pick up Truck

I close my eyes while I ride in the white pickup truck. My otherwise stiff afro blowing in the strong wind. The wind, she dares to move my coarse hair and I Love her for it. My hand outstretched throu

Choose Love

Diversity is so important to me. For you to not look like me means something to me. I want you to be different and accept your differences. One thing that remains is that we are all created in his ima

Narrative

I had to ask my self what I was afraid of. I had to look you in the eyes and tell you my truth. Then you told me yours. It was a different narrative than mines. One I could not comprehend. I was so bl

bottom of page